Make your own free website on

The Mother India

  A Home page to achieve Electoral reforms, true democracy & citizens sovereignty in India


From: "LokSatta" <>
To: "Tirumala Srinivas" <>
Subject: Meeting with the President
Date: Tue, 12 Nov 2002 20:02:27 +0530

12th August, 2002

Dear Friends

        The appointment with the President is confirmed at 12.30hrs on 16th August 2002. The delegation is expected to arrive at the reception of Rashtrapati Bhavan via South Block and Cabinet Secretariat Office by 12 Noon. From there the delegates will be guided by Rashtrapati Bhavan officials.

        Meanwhile we need to get the legal briefs ready latest by 13th August. We need not wait for the revised draft. Our appeal to President is to seek Supreme Court's opinion under Art 143, or to return the Bill/ Ordinance to both Houses under Art 111 or to return the Ordinance to the Council of Ministers for reconsideration. The ground for President's intervention is the patent unconstitutionality of Section 4 of the draft Bill (incorporating Section 33A in the Representation of the People Act, 1951), preventing further disclosures by candidates. This is clearly violative of Article 19 as interpreted by the Supreme Court, as well as a negation of the natural rights of citizens flowing from the very concept of democracy.

        In addition, the legitimacy of promulgating an ordinance immediately after a month-long monsoon session concludes is highly questionable. Any Bill of such far-reaching implications, restricting the right of citizens to know, and aimed at nullifying the judgment of the Supreme Court must be at least discussed and debated in Parliament before it is considered by the President.

            I request Ms. Kamini Jaiwsal and Sri Sanjay Parikh to help us by preparing a legal brief in support of President's action under Art 143 or Art 111. The team may please seek Justice Sachar's guidance in this.

        In order to finalise the memorandum, fine tune arrangements, and discuss follow up action, a meeting is proposed with all the members of the delegation at 4 PM on 15th August at Centre for Media Studies.
Address: Centre for Media Studies (CMS)
Research House,
Community Centre, Saket (Behind Anupam Cinema)
New Delhi - 110 017
Tel 011-6851660,6864020, 6867348(D)
Contact Person: Dr N Bhaskara Rao

            I would greatly appreciate if you could make it convenient to participate in the meeting on 15th August at 4 PM. If any member has to dropout at the last minute, kindly do inform us latest by 13th August. Rashtrapathi Bhavan wants the final list latest by 14th August. Please find enclosed a letter addressed to Rashtrapati Bhavan, which is self-explanatory, and also lists the composition of the delegation to meet the President

With warm regards,

Jayaprakash Narayan
National Coordinator


National Campaign for Electoral Reforms


August 12, 2002

Sri V.Ayyaswami
Private Secretary to the President of India
Rashtrapathi Bhavan
New Delhi

Dear Sri Ayyaswami ji,

        Thank you for confirming the appointment with the President for the delegation of National Campaign for Electoral Reforms at 12-30 hrs on 16th August. The following is the composition of the delegation:

Justice Rajendra Sachar, former Chief Justice of Delhi High Court and President, PUCL

Sri Kuldip Nayar MP

Sri LC Jain , former Member, Planning Commission

Ms Aruna Roy, Mazdoor Kisan Shakti Sanghatan

Sri R H Tahiliani, former Chief of Naval Staff, President Trasnparency International

Dr Syed Shahid Mehdi, Vice Chancellor, Jamia Milia Islamia

Dr. N. Bhaskara Rao, Centre for Media Studies

Sri P.M.Tripathi, Association of Voluntary Agencies for Rural Development

Prof.Manubhai Shah, President, Consumer Education and Research Centre

Ms.Kamini Jaiswal, Senior Advocate Supreme Court

Sri Sanjay Parikh, Advocate, Supreme Court, PUCL

Dr.Samuel Paul, President, Public Affairs Centre

Sri A.K.Venkata Subramanian, Catalyst Trust, Chennai

Dr.P.V.Shenoi, former Chairman, Agricultural Finance Corporation

Prof.K.C.Sivaramakrishnan, Nagarpalika Network

Dr.P.M.Bhargava, Scientist, Former Director, Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology

Gen.Vinod Saighal, Movement for Restoration of Good Government

Sri I.C.Dwivedi, Former Director General of Police, UP

Dr.S.D.Sharma, Lok Seva Sangh

Sri Jagadananda, CYSD, Bhubaneshwar

Ms.Tara Sinha, Communications Expert

Sri Sunil Handa, Association for Democratic Reforms

Dr.Trilochan Sastry, Association for Democratic Reforms

Sri Promod Chawla, Parivartan

Sri Sharad Kumar, Association for Good Governance Network in India

Sri Bhibhu Mahapatra, Commonwealth Human Rights Initiative

Dr Jayaprakash Narayan, Lok Satta movement

            Most of the delegates have confirmed their participation. Since distinguished citizens are traveling from all over the country, there may be a few last-minute changes. We will communicate to Rashtrapathi Bhavan the changes, if any, by 14th August latest. As advised by you, we are in touch with Col.D.L.Ahlawat to coordinate the arrangements. The members of the delegation will reach Rashtrapathi Bhavan reception via South Block and Cabinet Secretariat office by 12 Noon.

We thank you for your kindness and courtesy.
With warm regards

Jayaprakash Narayan
National Coordinator


“Save your country from criminal politicians”

Identify the importance of  this web page, Do kindly propagate the URL in the net.

-----Tirumala Srinivas